Frequent reminders to sign up at forums

ArchivesFeature requests → Frequent reminders to sign up at forums

CLOSED

A reminder for people who hasn’t signed up at the forums (for example once they log in) has been requested by several staff members.

I’ve attempted to write a modification to the misc.py file for this, but I have never written any python code before so I don’t know how many problems there might be with it.

def get_website_data(player):
    conn    = zxJDBC.connect(mysql_database, mysql_user, mysql_pass, "com.mysql.jdbc.Driver")
    curs    = conn.cursor()
    uuid = str(uid(player)).replace("-", "")
    curs.execute("SELECT DISTINCT `id`, `email` FROM users WHERE `uuid` = ? LIMIT 1", (uuid,))
    results = curs.fetchall()
    curs.close()
    conn.close()
    return ("http://redstoner.com/users/%s" % results[0][0], results[0][1]) if results else (None, None)

def on_join(event):
    """
    Welcome new players
    """
    player = event.getPlayer()

# send welcome broadcast
    if not player.hasPlayedBefore():
        broadcast("utils.greet_new", "\n&a&lPlease welcome &f" + player.getDisplayName() + " &a&lto Redstoner!\n")

# clear out some eventual crap before
        msg(player, " \n \n \n \n \n \n \n \n \n \n \n \n ")
        msg(player, "  &4Welcome to the Redstoner Server!")
        msg(player, "  &6Before you ask us things, take a quick")
        msg(player, "  &6look at &a&nredstoner.com/info")
        msg(player, "  \n&6thank you and happy playing ;)")
        msg(player, " \n \n")

# teleport to spawn when spawning inside portal
    loginloc = player.getLocation().getBlock().getType()
    headloc = player.getEyeLocation().getBlock().getType()
    if "PORTAL" in [str(headloc), str(loginloc)]:
        msg(player, "&4Looks like you spawned in a portal... Let me help you out")
        msg(player, "&6You can use /back if you &nreally&6 want to go back")
        player.teleport(player.getWorld().getSpawnLocation())